Follow us
Glaciar Perito Moreno Paso Garibaldi - Ushuaia Hotel Llao Llao - Bariloche Fitz Roy - El Chalten Torres del Paine Ballena Franca - Peninsula Valdes Cataratas del Iguazu Cafayate - Salta Humahuaca - Jujuy
Glaciar Perito Moreno1 Paso Garibaldi - Ushuaia2 Hotel Llao Llao - Bariloche3 Fitz Roy - El Chalten4 Torres del Paine5 Ballena Franca - Peninsula Valdes6 Cataratas del Iguazu7 Cafayate - Salta8 Humahuaca - Jujuy9
Simple Photo Gallery Javascript by v2.0
Ushuaia, known as the “Southernmost City in the World," is the capital of the Province of Tierra del Fuego, Antarctica and South Atlantic Islands. Located in the eastern part of Isla Grande (Big Island) de Tierra del Fuego, also comprising the Argentine Antarctica, the Malvinas, Georgias, Sandwich, Órcadas, and Staten Islands, as well as other smaller islands, according to the boundaries set by Law No. 23,775 on "Provincialization of the last National Territory" in 1990. The total area of the province is 1,002,445 km² and the Islands take up 981,359 km². It was founded 121 years ago, on October 12, 1884 by Commander Augusto Laserre, who also inaugurated the Subprefecture of Ushuaia, in order to protect the borders of this southern region. It has been an undeniable spot of geopolitical importance that has led to various settlement plans in the area, which began with a criminal settlement at Staten Island in 1896 and later on in Ushuaia, from 1901 to 1948, when the Prison or Jail for Persistent Offenders was closed. With the Industrial Promotion Act, the population increase started in the 70's, and has remained constant up to the present.
Ushuaia is located on the slopes of Martial Mounts and the Beagle Channel coast, which gives it a unique appeal due to its colourful houses and its inhabitants’ warmth. A young city with a thriving spirit will be awaiting those arriving in these latitudes where beauty will surprise you at all times in each of its landscapes. Dare to discover it!!!